Yancey County 4-H Achievement Celebration

— Written By
en Español / em Português

El inglés es el idioma de control de esta página. En la medida en que haya algún conflicto entre la traducción al inglés y la traducción, el inglés prevalece.

Al hacer clic en el enlace de traducción se activa un servicio de traducción gratuito para convertir la página al español. Al igual que con cualquier traducción por Internet, la conversión no es sensible al contexto y puede que no traduzca el texto en su significado original. NC State Extension no garantiza la exactitud del texto traducido. Por favor, tenga en cuenta que algunas aplicaciones y/o servicios pueden no funcionar como se espera cuando se traducen.


Inglês é o idioma de controle desta página. Na medida que haja algum conflito entre o texto original em Inglês e a tradução, o Inglês prevalece.

Ao clicar no link de tradução, um serviço gratuito de tradução será ativado para converter a página para o Português. Como em qualquer tradução pela internet, a conversão não é sensivel ao contexto e pode não ocorrer a tradução para o significado orginal. O serviço de Extensão da Carolina do Norte (NC State Extension) não garante a exatidão do texto traduzido. Por favor, observe que algumas funções ou serviços podem não funcionar como esperado após a tradução.


English is the controlling language of this page. To the extent there is any conflict between the English text and the translation, English controls.

Clicking on the translation link activates a free translation service to convert the page to Spanish. As with any Internet translation, the conversion is not context-sensitive and may not translate the text to its original meaning. NC State Extension does not guarantee the accuracy of the translated text. Please note that some applications and/or services may not function as expected when translated.

Collapse ▲

On Saturday, February 25th, 2023, Yancey County 4-H held it’s first annual Achievement Celebration. This event recognized Yancey County 4-H’ers for their hard work and achievements throughout the 2022 4-H Year. Youth were recognized for their completion of 4-H projects, presentations, portfolios, project record books and leadership achievements. Congratulations to the following youth:

Animal Science Project Awards

Poultry Project

  • Maxen Ballard
  • Allie McKinney 
  • Tara McKinney 
  • Willow Showalter 
  • Phoebe Showalter
  • Paislee Silver
  • Justin Brantley
  • Sam Gantt

Small Animal Project

  • Sage Woody
  • Scarlett Woody
  • Charis Pate
  • Sam Gantt

Beef Project

  • Emarie Norton
  • Abby Grace Riddle
  • Allie Shuford
  • Alexis Barnett
  • Ryker Taylor
  • Mack Ray 
  • Samantha Laws
  • Jake Johnson
  • Chyenne Wilkinson
  • Sam Gantt

Meat Goat Project

  • Gracie Vaux
  • Allison Chandler
  • Justin Brantley 
  • Daisy Brantley – Nance Family 4-H Meat Goat Leadership Institute

Shooting Sports Project

  • Liam Ayers – Jr. Compound Archery, Shotgun (Regional, State)
  • Jake Johnson – Jr. Compound Archery (Regional)
  • Sam Gantt – Jr. Compound Archery (Regional)
  • Jonathan Riddle – Jr. Compound Archery, Jr. Telescopic Rifle (Regional, State)
  • Makenna Carroll – Jr. Compound Archery, Jr. Telescopic Rifle (Regional, State)
  • Macy Carroll – Sr. Compound Archery, Sr. Telescopic Rifle (Regional, State)
  • Mary Grace Holcombe – Sr. Compound Archery, Sr. Telescopic Rifle (Regional, State)
  • JJ Wise – Sr. Compound Archery (Regional)
  • Kyle Robinson – Jr. Open Class Rifle (Regional)
  • Hudson Hilliard – Jr. Shotgun, Jr. Telescopic Rifle (Regional, State)
  • Autumn Smith – Sr. Rifle Open Class, Sr. Telescopic Rifle (Regional State)
  • Caden Wheeler – Sr. Shotgun, Sr. Telescopic Rifle (Regional, State)
  • Bradley Jeffords – Sr. Telescopic Rifle, Shotgun (Regional, State)
  • Isaac Miller – Jr. Telescopic and Open Class Rifle, Jr. Shotgun (Regional, State)
  • Christian Swann – Sr. Shotgun (Regional) Adam Pate – Sr. Shotgun (Regional)
  • Nate Pate – Sr. Shotgun (Regional)
  • Jaxon Norton – Jr. Telescopic Rifle (Regional)
  • Morgan Carroll – Jr. Telescopic Rifle (Regional, State)
  • Hunter Wilson – Jr. Telescopic Rifle, Jr. Shotgun (Regional, State)
  • Ben Holmes – Jr. Telescopic Rifle, Jr. Shotgun (Regional, State)
  • Becca Carroll – Jr. Compound Archery, Jr. Telescopic Rifle (Regional, State- 3rd Place Jr. Rifle)
  • Hunter Geouge – Sr. Archery Compound, Shotgun (Regional, State- 3rd Place Sr. Shotgun)

Graduating Seniors

  • Jared (JJ) Wise
  • Samantha Laws

Mountain Challenge

  • Wendy Tapia Lymus – Outstanding growth in leadership skills
  • Cecilia McKinney – Outstanding growth in character and compassion

Electric Program & Leadership

2022 Electric Congress Delegates:

  • Benjamin Varney
  • Derek Heidenfelder

AIRE (Application Interview, Resume & Electronic Video):

  • Benjamin Varney

Presentation Awards

  • Derek Heidenfelder – Science & Technology (County)
  • Cooper Ledford – Hospitality, Etiquette & Social Graces (County, District – Silver)
  • Jacob Ledford – Beef Char Grill (County, District – Gold, State – Gold)
  • Sam Gantt – Small & Companion Animals (County, District – Gold, State – Bronze)

Project Record Book Awards

2021 4-H Project Record Book Competition

  • Benjamin Varney – 2021 Science & Technology (County, State – Gold)
  • Derek Heidenfelder – 2021 Science & Technology (County, State – Silver), Family & Consumer Sciences (County, State – Silver)

2022 4-H Project Record Book Competition – County Winners

  • Benjamin Varney – 2022 Science & Technology (16-18 First Place)
  • Derek Heidenfelder – 2022 Science & Technology (16-18 2nd Place)
  • Alexis Barnett – 2022 Animal Science (13-15 1st Place)
  • Sam Gantt – 2022 Animal Science (11-12 1st Place)
  • Daisy Brantley – 2022 Animal Science (11-12 2nd Place)
  • Justin Brantley – 2022 Animal Science (8-10 1st Place)

2022 WNC Dairy Steer Project Book Competition

  • Alexis Barnett – WNC Dairy Steer, Grand Champion
  • Jake Johnson – WNC Dairy Steer, Reserve Champion

Portfolio Awards

  • Benjamin Varney – 2021 Science & Technology (County, District – Gold, State – Gold), 2022 Science & Technology, 2022 Electric
  • Derek Heidenfelder – 2021 Science & Technology (County, District – Gold, State – Silver), 2022 Science & Technology, 2022 Electric

Achievement Awards

  • Cloverbud of the Year (Ages 5-7): Maxen Ballard
  • Junior 4-H’er of the Year (Ages 8-10): Jacob Ledford
  • Intermediate 4-H’er of the Year (Ages 11-13): Sam Gantt
  • Senior 4-H’er of the Year (Ages 14-18): Alexis Barnett
  • Outstanding Youth Volunteer Leader: Jared (JJ) Wise

Congratulations to all of these youth for their accomplishments in 2022. We look forward to seeing all of the amazing things they will accomplish in 2023! 

The success of 4-H would not be possible without our dedicated volunteers. We would like to give a special thanks to the following volunteers for helping improve the lives of our youth in Yancey County: Lynn Austin & April McCurry- Beef Club, Connie McMahan & Reba Mathis- Sewing Club, Amber Hammond- Livestock Club, Shane Hilliard, Mark Geouge, Levi Johnson, Jeff Fox, Clay Carroll, Joe Pate & Gerald Barnett- Yancey Longshots Club, Kimberly Montgomery- Arts & Crafts Group, Abigail Varney- Electric Group, Kevin Gantt- Outdoor Adventures Club, Michelle Burke, Kayti Ledford and Christina Johnson- LEGO Club, Chastity Sprinkle- Horse Club and Linda Kay- Volunteer at Large. For more information about opportunities available through Yancey County 4-H, contact Jordan English, 4-H Agent at jordan_english@ncsu.edu or 828-682-1872.