Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Tres Magner, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionTres Magner, IIICounty Extension Director (828) 682-6186 (Office) tres_magner@ncsu.eduYancey County

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Linda Semon, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLinda Semon4-H Program Associate (828) 682-6186 (Office) linda_semon@ncsu.eduYancey County

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Stanley Holloway, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionStanley HollowayExtension Agent, Agriculture (828) 682-6187 stanley_holloway@ncsu.eduYancey CountyPhoto of Adam McCurry, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAdam McCurryA&T Agriculture Technician (828) 682-6186 (Office) adam_mccurry@ncsu.eduYancey County

Family and Consumer Sciences

Photo of Sue Estridge, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSue EstridgeArea Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences (828) 649-2411 (Office) sue_estridge@ncsu.eduMadison County

Other

Photo of Christina Robinson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionChristina RobinsonCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (828) 682-6186 (Office) cmrobin3@ncsu.eduYancey CountyPhoto of Glenna Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionGlenna TaylorJCPC Administrative Assistant (828) 682-6186 (Office) glenna_taylor@ncsu.eduYancey County

Area Specialized Agents

These agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Yancey County Center, they may not be present in the Yancey County Center. Please contact the Yancey County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of Brent Buchanan, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBrent BuchananArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Dairy Serves 26 CountiesBased out of Cleveland(315) 212-1277 brent_buchanan@ncsu.eduCleveland County Photo of Lauren Greene, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLauren GreeneArea Specialized Agent, Agribusiness - Poultry Serves 31 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wilkes(336) 651-7347 lauren_greene@ncsu.eduWilkes County Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Photo of Craig Mauney, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCraig MauneyExtension Area Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables & Fruits Serves 39 CountiesBased out of Henderson(828) 684-3562 craig_mauney@ncsu.eduHenderson County Photo of Currey Nobles, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCurrey NoblesArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Science(919) 515-9520 canobles@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Science Photo of Elena Rogers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElena RogersArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety - Fresh Produce Western NC Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Horticultural Science(828) 352-2519 elena_rogers@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Debbie Stroud, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDebbie StroudArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 33 Counties and EBCIBased out of Harnett(919) 515-9149 dlstroud@ncsu.eduHarnett County Photo of Amanda Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda TaylorArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Western Region Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Burke(828) 475-2915 amanda_jo_taylor@ncsu.eduBurke County Photo of Skip Thompson, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSkip ThompsonArea Specialized Agent - Aquaculture Serves 13 Counties and EBCIBased out of Haywood(828) 456-3575 (Office) Skip_Thompson@ncsu.eduHaywood County Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County